5 Gluten Free Ideas for Gift Baskets

Creating a gift basket as a gift for a friend, family member or coworker is an excellent idea. Not only will you be able to personalize the gift basket for this special person in your life, but you can also save money by making it yourself. If the person in your life you’re giving this gift basket to maintains a gluten-free diet, here are five ideas for gluten-free snacks you can add to the basket.

1. Artisan Pretzels

Various varieties of artisan pretzels are some of the best salty snacks that are also gluten-free. Consider getting pretzels with unique flavors like cheese, sesame seed or extra salty. There are even pretzels with honey mustard or onion and garlic flavors, which can be delicious even if you don’t eat exclusively gluten-free foods.

2. Popcorn

Popcorn is another great gluten-free snack. Just make sure there are no added ingredients that contain gluten and you’re all set. Cheesy popcorn and kettle corn are some great flavors to consider for your gift basket.

3. Nuts

When roasted or raw nuts are sure not to have any other ingredients or flavors added, they’re definitely going to be gluten-free and can make a great addition to any type of gift basket for a friend or family member.

4. Dried Fruits

Dried fruits are great because they last a long time and can be a delicious addition to any gift basket. Some of the best dried fruits are bananas, strawberries and apples, or you can get a combination as several different dried fruits. If you have a dehydrator at home, you can even dehydrate fruits yourself. This makes dried fruits one of the most inexpensive yet delicious options for a personalized gift basket.

5. Gluten-Free Chocolate

Most types of chocolates are gluten-free, and of course, any type of chocolate is always a welcome addition to your gift basket. But instead of going with the old tried and true chocolate varieties like dark or milk, you might consider getting a more unique chocolate that contains a little something extra, like sea salt, dried oranges, almonds or sesame seeds.

As a side note, just remember that in some cases, even the foods listed above can end up containing gluten even if it’s not on purpose. This often happens when foods are manufactured at a place where non gluten-free foods are also manufactured. In this way, ingredients that are not gluten-free such as rye, wheat and barley can inadvertently get into the foods that you think are going to be gluten-free.

To be sure that a food item is completely gluten-free and safe for those who maintain a gluten-free diet, look for an official gluten-free label on the package.

Tags: 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*